OVERVIEW: The Global People’s Summit on Just, Equitable, Healthy, & Sustainable Food Systems on September 21 to 23

(This post is updated regularly.)

The Global People’s Summit (GPS) on Food Systems is a Global South-led counter-summit to the United Nations Food Systems Summit (UNFSS) and its corporate agenda. Happening on September 21 to 23, the GPS will gather the broadest number of rural peoples, people’s organizations, CSOs, and advocates on-ground and online to develop a People’s Action Plan and draw up a Declaration for the radical transformation of the current food regimes towards just, equitable, healthy, and sustainable food systems. 

The three-day main event culminates all efforts and activities held since early this year to expose the neoliberal leverage in the UNFSS and to amplify the voices of the hungry and marginalized for food systems that work for us, for our people, and for our planet. 

Upcoming build up activities

The GPS aims to put the voices of the marginalized at the helm of agenda-setting in the radical transformation of our food systems. 

The thematic, regional, sectoral, and national events serve as the baseline and groundwork of the GPS and for the formulation of its Declaration. They aim to develop the analysis, demands, and action plans for the radical transformation of our food systems and deepen the unities of the GPS in the most relevant issues in our food systems.

These activities have already started since May 2021, building on the conferences and workshops done under the #Hungry4Change campaign from June 2020. More will be held on September 22 as side events of the GPS as well as online and physical (if possible) activities in countries. 

EventDate and TimeDescriptionRegistration link
Online Migrant Forum: Migrants on Food Security and SovereigntySeptember 17
12NN Dhaka 
1PM Jakarta 
2PM Manila/Hong Kong 
3PM Seoul/Tokyo 
4PM Sydney/Melbourne
6PM New Zealand
What does food security mean to a migrant worker? Let us listen to the stories of migrant workers on their experiences regarding this important matter. Organized by the International Migrants Alliance.https://bit.ly/migrantfoodsovereignty
Public Forum: The Future of Food Systems is IndigenousSeptember 17
8AM Paraguay
1PM Nigeria
2PM Amsterdam
5:30PM India
6PM Guatemala
8PM Manila
9PM Jayapura
Join the online public forum for the sharing of the results of dialogue and consultation about Indigenous Food Systems and Indigenous Peoples rights. Organized by the Int’l Indigenous Peoples Movement for Self-Determination and Liberation.tinyurl.com/IPFutureFoodSystems
Citizen’s Food Systems SummitSeptember 18
1:30PM Tokyo
Organized by Consumers Union of Japan.
Neocolonialism and the Failed Rice RevolutionSeptember 20
5PM Manila
2:30PM Delhi
10AM Nairobi
11AM Rome
Unmasking the role of Bill Gates on the corporate capture of the UNFSS, with Golden Rice in focus. Organized by the Stop Golden Rice! Network Asia, People’s Coalition on Food Sovereignty, and A Growing Culture.bit.ly/GPSUnmaskingBillGates
Farmers, Not Corporations, Feed Africa!September 20
4PM Nairobi
3PM Lusaka
2PM Lomé
Hear more about the current situation, challenges, and efforts of the African people for the radical transformation of our food systems.https://bit.ly/GPSAfricaConsultation
Unite to Resist the Neoliberal Food System in Latin America (Latin America and the Caribbean Regional Consultation)September 20
9AM Bogota
10AM La Paz  & Caracas
11AM Santiago & Brasilia
5PM Amman & Nairobi
10PM Manila
Listen to how Latin Americans carry out their struggle against the neoliberal food system in the region.https://bit.ly/GPSAmericaLatinaConsulta 

September 21: Summit Opening

Via Zoom | 9AM New York & La Paz / 3PM Rome / 4PM Nairobi & Amman / 9PM Manila time

The opening program of the GPS features how marginalized rural peoples from the Global South – landless farmers, agricultural workers, indigenous peoples, fisherfolk, rural women, youth, rural people living in occupied areas, and sanctioned peoples – envision and achieve just, equitable, healthy, and sustainable food systems. 

The program also includes solidarity messages from personalities who support the GPS and a moderated panel discussion on the UNFSS and its outcomes. The event will also pay tribute to peasant heroes, their stories, and their contributions for a just, equitable, healthy, and sustainable food system. 

September 22: Side Events

Whole day of simultaneous side events

EventTimeDescriptionRegistration link
Transforming food systems through people-led agroecology12PM Kuala Lumpur
10AM Karachi
11AM Bangkok
9:30AM Delhi
7AM Nairobi & Amman
The webinar will provide updates on key global discussions related to agroecology, and highlight inspiring stories and best practices by communities advancing agroecology. Organized by PAN Asia Pacific, MASIPAG, and PAN North America.bit.ly/GPSAgroecology
Local Food First: Challenging the Techno-Trade Dogma7:30PM Sydney
5:30PM Manila
3PM Delhi
2:30PM Islamabad
11:30PM Harare/Rome
This 2-hour webinar focuses on the links between “free” trade, techno-expansion and the globalized food system, and at the need to localize. Includes 1 hour global-to-local campaign-brainstorming. Organized by Local Futures.events.humanitix.com/local-food-first
Asserting Food Sovereignty, Transforming Food Systems8AM New York & La Paz 
9AM Brasilia
2PM Rome 
3PM Nairobi & Amman 
5PM Karachi
8PM Manila
The webinar will revisit the basic principles of food sovereignty and how it challenges the corporate agenda in the UNFSS. Organized by the People’s Coalition on Food Sovereignty (PCFS) and the Asia Pacific Research Network (APRN).bit.ly/GlobalPeoplesSummit
(same room as the opening and closing plenary)

National activities in the following countries: Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Philippines, and Sri Lanka. More details to follow.

September 23: Global Day of Action & Speak Out

Via Zoom | 9AM New York & La Paz / 3PM Rome / 4PM Nairobi & Amman / 9PM Manila time

On September 23, the virtual event of the UN Food Systems Summit (UNFSS), the GPS* will hold a global protest against the corporate hijack of the UNFSS and the neoliberal solutions it peddles to co-opt the transformation of our food systems in the interest of corporate profit. 

The day will be headlined by the two-hour GPS Closing Plenary, also called the Speak Out for Just, Equitable, Healthy, and Sustainable Food Systems, which will be held simultaneously with the UNFSS. The Speak Out will present the policy recommendations and action plans drawn from the thematic, regional, sectoral, and national events building up to the main event, as well as the Four Pillars of Transformation. The Declaration for the radical transformation of our food systems will also be presented and adopted.

*The GPS Organizing Committee members leading the global action are the People’s Coalition on Food Sovereignty, PAN Asia Pacific, Asian Peasant Coalition, Int’l Indigenous Peoples Movement for Self-Determination and Liberation, Asia Pacific Research Network, International Migrants Alliance, International Women’s Alliance, and the International League of People’s Struggle.